The difference between RAID 5 and 6 is that is uses two independent parity functions, written across the array separately.

RAID 6 is also known as double-parity RAID and requires a minimum of four disks. However if two drives fail, your data is still safe – unlike RAID 5. RAID 6 write operations are slightly slower as it has to write an additional parity block.

+ RAID 6 drastically reduces the risk of data loss
+ It is easy to configure on any server or operating system
+ Supports double-parity isolating the backup drives unless required
+ Reading speed is increased for many drives

x It has a slower write speed
x Space efficiency is low (only 50% for 4 drives)
x More expensive as it requires two backup drives

The process of configuring RAID 6 varies depending on the operating system, but it is well documented and easy to configure. In a world where malware and cyber-attacks are frequent, RAID 6 offers administrators that ‘peace of mind’.


More Articles That May Interest You

What are the causes of RAID failure

How does RAID 5 operate?

What is RAID redundancy?






Contact Us!


To speak with one of our Sales Team call us on:
0800 223 0162
Alternatively enter your details below followed by your enquiry and one of our team will get back to you.

Contact Us

Quick Enquiry